ICKSMCB 2015 / International Conference of the Korean Society for Molecular and Cellular Biology / Oct.9 (Wed) ~ 11 (Fri), 2013 / COEX, Gangnam, Seoul, Korea

Nobel Laureate Lecture

HOME > Conference Program > Presidential Lecture

October 14 (Fri), 15:00-15:50, Rm. 401

Intracellular Messenger Function of Hydrogen Peroxide and Its Regulation by Peroxiredoxin

Sue Goo Rhee, Ph.D.
Newilhan Distinguished Professor of Severance Biomedical Science Institute, Yonsei University College of Medicine, Korea

Dr. Sue-Goo Rhee has been studying mechanisms of cell signaling and pioneered in two areas of research. Dr. Rhee's group is responsible for the discovery and characterization of the first three prototypical members of the phospholipase C family and has contributed greatly to our understanding of the mechanisms by which various cell surface receptors cause activation of these enzymes to generate two intracellular messengers, diacylglycerol and inositol 1,4,5-trisphosphate. Another contribution made by Dr. Rhee's group is the discovery of peroxiredoxin family members and elucidation of their role in redox signaling. Peroxiredoxin enzymes not only protect against oxidative damage but also mediate cell signaling by modulating intracellular H2O2 levels. Their studies revealed that peroxiredoxin enzymes are extensively regulated via phosphorylation as well as reversible hyperoxidation of the active site cysteine to cysteine sulfinic acid. Reversibilty of sulfinic acid formation opened the door to a rapidly expanding area of research on redox-based cell signaling process.

Before joining the current position in 2013, Dr. Rhee was in the National Heart Lung and Blood Institute, National Institutes of Health in Bethesda from 1973 to 2005 and in Ewha Womans University from 2005 to 2013.

Dr. Rhee received Ho Am Award in Science in 1995, the Discovery Award from The society of Free Radical Biology and Medicine in 2005, the Health Science prize from the Oxygen Society of California in 2014 and was appointed as the first National Honor Scientist by the Korean government in 2006.

Organizer & Chair : Joonho Choe, Ph.D. (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), Korea)