ICKSMCB 2022 / 2022 International Conference of the Korean Society for Molecular and Cellular Biology / September 28 - 30, 2022 / ICC JEJU

Plenary Lectures

HOME > Program > Plenary Lectures

Plenary Lecture Ⅰ September 28 (Wed), 15:40-16:30, Tamna hall A

Edvard I. Moser

Neural computation of space

Edvard I. Moser, Ph.D.
Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), Norway
*2014 Nobel Laureate
Organizer & Chair: Greg Suh, Ph.D. (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), Korea)

Edvard Moser is a Professor of Neuroscience and a Scientific Director of the Kavli Institute for Systems Neuroscience (KISN) nat the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) in Trondheim. He is interested in neural network coding in the cortex, with particular emphasis on space, time and memory. His work, conducted with May-Britt Moser as a long-term collaborator, includes the discovery of grid cells, which provides clues to a mechanism for the metric of spatial mapping. His current aim is to unravel how neural microcircuits for space and time are organized as interactions between large numbers of diverse neurons with known functional identity, an endeavour that is significantly boosted by the development of Neuropixels probes and 2-photon miniscopes for freely-moving rodents. Edvard Moser received his initial training at the University of Oslo under the supervision of Per Andersen and worked as a post-doc with Richard Morris and John O’Keefe. In 1996 he accepted a faculty position in psychology at NTNU. He became a Founding Director of the Centre for the Biology of Memory in 2002 and of KISN in 2007. Together with May-Britt Moser, he has received numerous awards, including the 2014 Nobel Prize in Medicine or Physiology.

Plenary Lecture Ⅱ September 29 (Thu), 11:50-12:40, Tamna hall A

David Baker

Protein design using deep learning

David Baker, Ph.D.
University of Washington, USA
Organizer & Chair: Byung-Ha Oh, Ph.D. (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), Korea)

David Baker is the director of the Institute for Protein Design, a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, a professor of biochemistry, and an adjunct professor of genome sciences, bioengineering, chemical engineering, computer science, and physics at the University of Washington. Dr. Baker has published over 550 research papers, been granted over 100 patents, and co-founded 17 companies. Sixty-eight of his mentees have gone on to independent faculty positions. Dr. Baker is a recipient of the Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences and is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Plenary Lecture Ⅲ September 29 (Thu), 18:00-18:50, Tamna hall A

Ivan Dikic

Ubiquitination and ER remodelling

Ivan Dikic, M.D., Ph.D.
Goethe University, Max Planck Institute of Biophysics, Germany
Organizer : DongHyuk Shin, Ph.D. (Yonsei University, Korea)
Chair : Hyun Kyu Song, Ph.D. (Korea University, Korea)

Ivan Dikic, M.D., Ph.D. is Professor of biochemistry at Goethe University and a Fellow of Max Planck Institute of Biophysics in Frankfurt. The Dikic lab studies molecular principles of ubiquitin biology and autophagy and explores pathological alterations in these pathways related to human disease development such as cancer, neurodegeneration and infection. His recent interests focus on remodeling of cellular organelles, including ER and mitochondria, via selective autophagy pathways. He is an elected member of the EMBO, the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina, the European Academy, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. For his scientific work he received the Ernst Jung Prize for Medicine and the Leibniz Prize of the DFG. Ivan Dikic is committed to education of the next generations of young scientists globally.

Plenary Lecture Ⅳ September 30 (Fri), 11:50-12:40, Tamna hall A

V. Narry Kim

Control of mRNA stability

V. Narry Kim, Ph.D.
Seoul National University, Korea
Organizer : Jin-Wu Nam, Ph.D. (Hanyang University, Korea)
Chair : Junho LEE, Ph.D. (Seoul National University, Korea)

Narry Kim is a molecular cell biologist renowned for her research in microRNA and RNA modification. Dr. Kim and her group elucidated the microRNA biogenesis pathway and identified key biogenesis factors including RNA polymerase II, DROSHA, DGCR8, LIN28, and terminal uridyltransferases. In parallel, the Kim lab has discovered noncanonical RNA tailing reactions which control microRNAs and mRNAs, particularly in the context of stem cells, embryonic development, tumorigenesis, and viral infection. Kim also made contributions by developing many biochemical and genomic techniques for RNA analyses.

Dr. Kim is Distinguished Professor at Seoul National University and the founding Director of RNA Research Center at Institute for Basic Science. She received her BSc from Seoul National University (1992) and DPhil from Oxford University (1998) and undertook postdoctoral studies at the University of Pennsylvania. In 2001, she relocated to Korea, making a transition to microRNA biology. She is a recipient of the L’Oreal-UNESCO Women in Science Award (2007), Hoam Prize (2009), Korean Scientist Award (2013), and Asan Prize (2019). She has served on editorial boards of Cell, Science, Molecular Cell, Genes Dev, EMBO J, and Phil Trans B, and was elected to EMBO, Korean Academy of Science and Technology, and the US National Academy of Sciences.