ICKSMCB 2018 / 2018 International Conference of the Korean Society for Molecular and Cellular Biology / September 17(Mon)-19(Wed), 2018 / COEX, Seoul, Korea

Award Lecture

HOME > Program > Award Lecture

KSMCB Award for Women in Life Science Lecture

September 17 (Mon), 15:40-16:10, Rm. 401

Genome Integrity Control by the RSF1 Chromatin Remodeler

Hyeseong Cho, Ph.D.
Genomic Instability Research Center, Ajou University School of Medicine, Korea

Hyeseong Cho studies molecular mechanisms on genome integrity and mitochondria-mediated signaling. In cells of our body DNA is packaged into chromatin and fundamental nuclear processes such as DNA replication/repair and gene transcription occur in this environment. It is important to understand how this compact chromatin structure efficiently deals with such nuclear activities. Her group is studying RSF1 (Remodeling and Spacing Factor1) as one of the chromatin remodelers. They discovered that RSF1 promotes the DNA damage response signaling as well as transcription silencing under DNA damage conditions, orchestrating DNA repair processes. They also found that RSF1 plays an essential role in the formation of stable kinetochore?microtubule attachments and chromosomal segregation during mitosis. Thus, RSF1 is crucial for the maintenance of genomic integrity by facilitating the DNA damage response and mitotic fidelity. Her research contributes to understanding molecular mechanism of structural and numeric aberrations in chromosomes commonly observed in a variety of human cancers. Hyeseong Cho has led the “Genomics Instability Research Center” as a Director since 2011. She is also leading the group of “Mitochondria Dynamics and Signaling”. She received her B.S in Biology from Yonsei University and then completed her Ph.D. in Physiology from University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA in 1992. After postdoctoral training in NIH, she joined the Ajou University School of Medicine in 1994 and was promoted to Professor in the Department of Biochemistry in 2007. She has published over 70 publications in highly peer-reviewed journals. She received the GSK Award (2000), the Cell Cycle Research Award (2014) and the Minister’s Award from Ministry of Science, ICT and Future Planning in 2016.